BAD IDEA Jeans…

During the time I lived in Switzerland, I was exposed to this hilarious BAD IDEA Jeans commercial from H&M (first video clip shown below).  The unexpected, hilarious setup and slogan became something of a mental ‘earworm’ for me and when I came back stateside soon thereafter I frequently added ‘jeans’ in expressing my opinion about any bad idea scenario.

(For example, someone named Jones from a suicidal religious cult hands you a plastic cup of grape Kool-Aide to drink = “BAD IDEA Jeans”)

So here’s the commercial I knew:  H&M’s Rocky Jeans: BAD IDEA Jeans (early-to-mid 1990s)

So fast forward about a decade…It wasn’t until my second husband (of immense TV and comedy knowledge) caught on to my bad idea…JEANS!… expressions and asked if I was referring to the SNL skit, one of his favorites that featured the star cast of Phil Hartman, Bob Odenkirk, Kevin Nealon, David Spade and Mike Myers.

Here’s the commercial he was referring to:  Saturday Night Live – Bad Idea Jeans (Season 16)  [Due to copyright isssues, I can only refer you to a separate URL address rather than embedding it directly in this post.]

However, I was completely unaware of any similarities between my awesome H&M commercial and this alleged SNL skit and responded hotly that it must have been a parody of the original European commercial.  (The cartoon bubble above my head probably read: “like, I like totally saw it in Europe and -like – you know, it’s just, like, way cooler over there..”)

But after some deep Wiki research (LOL), we concluded that the SNL skit appeared during the 1990-1991 Season 16 of Saturday Night Live and that….helas, my ueber-cool Euro commercial could not have debuted in the movie theaters there for me to see before the summer of 1991. Given that it appears that they were both conceived independently at around the same time – no inferiority short straw findings turned up in my investigation of their originality and coolness.

But which one do you find funnier?  Please let me know in your comments as an unofficial poll to determine which commercial is: 1) funnier, 2) more memorable?  Thanks in advance and enjoy these two cultural takes on humor in branding!!

Leave a Reply

